SAN ANTO: Rate Hikes City Council Vote::THR 8am!!

City Council Action Thursday!!

Press Conference and meeting
City Council Chambers
(Main + Commerce)
at 8am

Thursday FEB18

Lacomunidad says
NO rate hikes
for dirty energy!

Press Conference and meeting
City Council Chambers
(Main + Commerce)
at 8am

Thursday FEB18

CPS is proposing ten years worth of rate hikes with no clear plan for clean energy and no detailed account for spending. CPS is proposing an initial 7.5% rate increase on your electricity bill and 8.5% on your gas bill!

-Rate hikes will happen every other year for the next 10 years!…for development on the north side, military bases, and unnecessary gas and coal power plants!

-CPS is continuing to pursue Nuclear expansion and spending almost $1 Million dollars a day
on legal fees related to the nuclear expansion, yet they are telling us they have no money!

-ZERO money is going towards clean energy
like solar and wind, or even programs like weatherization, which would improve our homes and decrease waste of electricity!

City Council meeting starts at 9am. We must sign-up before 9am to speak before city council votes to approve or deny the rate hikes. It is listed as the first agenda item of the morning. City Council has set their meetings at times that a lot of community members are unable to attend, if you are unable to make it you can submit a statement online at the following address: If you do not have internet access or want to dictate your statement please call or come in to one of the following locations:

Esperanza Peace and Justice Center 922 San Pedro 228-0201
Southwest Workers Union 1416 E Commerce

2010- electricity= 7.5% gas= 8.5%
2012- electricity= 4.9% gas= 4.5%
2014- electricity= 5.3% gas= 4.5%
2016- electricity= 5.5% gas= 4.5%
2018- electricity= 5.5% gas= 4.5%
2020- electricity= 5.2% gas= 4.0%

*CPS has the ability to change these proposed rates and increase them as they choose.

CallyourCouncilRepresentative right now!

Mayor Julián Castro (210) 207-7060
District 1 Mary Alice Cisneros (210) 207-7279
District 2 Ivy R. Taylor (210) 207-7278
District 3 Jennifer V. Ramos (210) 207-7064
District 4 Philip A. Cortez (210) 207-7281
District 5 David Medina, Jr. (210) 207-7043
District 6 Ray Lopez (210) 207-7065
District 7 Justin Rodriguez (210) 207-7044
District 8 W. Reed Williams (210) 207-7086
District 9 Elisa Chan (210) 207-7325
District 10 John G. Clamp (210) 207-7276

922 San Pedro • San Antonio TX 78212 • 210.228.0201
(entrance on W. Evergreen, 1/2 mile north of downtown)

Call if you have questions 228-0201

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: