AUSTIN: Social Justice + Hip Hop + Creative Youth – May 4

Youth Voices: Socially Conscious Spoken Word

Type:
Date:
Tuesday, May 4, 2010
Time:
6:00pm – 8:00pm
Location:
Southwest Key Programs – Community Room
Street:
6002 Jain Lane
City/Town:
Austin, TX

Description

Social Justice + Hip Hop + Creative Youth

Southwest Key Programs is hosting Youth Voices, a spoken word hip hop performance featuring original lyrical work with a socially conscious flair. The event will showcase amazing young poets and artists from throughout Travis County, including members of The Cipher, slam finalists from the Texas Youth Word Collective, and a new group called the Rhythm Writerz.

**Come out to support these kids and get inspired!!**

*No charge. Free food and drinks.*

Event Flyer: http://www.swkey.org/PDF_links/Youth_Voices_Flyer.pdf

Contact: lo’toole@swkey.org for additonal details.

One Response to “AUSTIN: Social Justice + Hip Hop + Creative Youth – May 4”

  1. This event sounds awesome. I wish I could get there, but I live in Maryland. I love anything that promotes good hip-hop/spoken word. And it’s even better that its a younger kids. I was at a show in Brooklyn not too long ago and I saw a 11 year old kid spit some of the best lines I’ve ever heard! There is definitely talent in the younger generations. I hope the event goes well! Post some videos from it so I can check it out.

    -Heath

    http://reclaimclique.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment